Senate President Ruggerio names leadership team

Senate President Dominick Ruggerio. photo by Steve Klamkin WPRO News
PROVIDENCE, R.I. (AP) — Rhode Island Senate President Dominick Ruggerio has named his leadership team for the new legislative session.

The North Providence Democrat announced Tuesday that Sen. Maryellen Goodwin will continue to serve as Senate Majority Whip, a position the Providence Democrat has held since 2011.

Sen. Ana Quezad of Providence has been named Deputy Whip.

Sen. James Seveney of Portsmouth and Sen. Valarie Lawson of East Providence will serve as co-Deputy Majority Leaders.

Sen. Joshua Miller of Cranston has been reappointed Democratic Policy Chairman.